Quick Hit: AA Eastern League Affiliates To Remain the Same in 2017

Quick Hit

This time of year in minor league baseball is the time where you begin to see a lot of affiliate shuffling, but that won't be the case in the Eastern League for the 2017 season where the AA Bowie Baysox play.

Photo: Patrick Cavey

Bowie is the AA affiliate of the Baltimore Orioles and they play in the Eastern League, which unlike several leagues in the minors, will be unchanged in terms of the teams and their affiliations in 2017.

As an example, the Orioles' High-A affiliate, the Frederick Keys, who play in the Carolina League, will see two new teams added to the league in 2017 and the Carolina Mudcats contract with the Atlanta Braves has a 2016 expiration date, so it's possible their affiliation could change or perhaps even leave the league.

The Baysox won't have to worry about that.

The Eastern League consists of two divisions with six teams in each division. The Baysox play in the Western division, where they finished last in 2016.

This year's Eastern League Champion, the Akron RubberDucks (Indians), received the Championship Trophy from the Baysox, who won their first EL Championship in 2015.

In a world where affiliations change as quickly as gas prices, it's nice to see both the Eastern League and all five major Orioles' affiliates go unchanged for 2017.


Be sure to like Baby Birdland on Facebook, Google+ and follow our Twitter account!